Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Writing?.....Well bloody lucky you!!

edited November 2010 in - Writing Problems
So, as i'm more a viewer than a contributor of the wonderful Talkback forum many of you will not know that i am a soldier currently out in Afghanistan. Now, the other day...week...month, i forget when it was, i wrote emphatically about how a particular incident with Mr Taliban had inspired me to write. It was brilliant, i had never written so much in my life....okay not true, but between lulls of firing off a few bullets, i had furiously poured all of my anger into the writing pad (i actually think Nano and the 3 day novel comps would have had their work cut out!!). So you can imagine my dismay when upon returning to my little piece of home, a camp bed with tarpaulin for shade, a truck which cleans out Portaloos decided to reverse into said Portaloos and proceed to push them onto my makeshift palace, i think you get the picture. It just so bloody well happens that my notebooks were strategically positioned where no nosey Squaddie could get his hands on them, but alas not escape the dredges of human waste.

*In conjunction with British Army policy, to prevent the outbreak of disease all items of clothing etc. spoilt by human faeces must be incinerated in situ.*

Well, i complained furiously and told the powers of be to stick their policy where it would hurt the most, not really thinking how i was to save my blessed poo and pee stained pages anyway, but i fought them to the bitter end, the end being petrol and a match. To save face and my reputation as a rough tough soldier i sniffed back the tears, commenting that something was in my eye, and turned away from my smouldering notebooks.

So, if you are writng...well don't store them next to a portaloo, because it causes a whole world of........!!

Comments